Navratri 2024

Navratri 2024

Maa Durga's Nine Avatars

Navratri 2024: Maa Durga's Nine Avatars

Navratri 2024 is just around the corner, starting on Tuesday, April 9, 2024, and continuing for nine auspicious days until April 17, 2024. During this time, Hindus across India celebrate with fervour and devotion. Navratri, which translates to 'nine nights' in Sanskrit, honours the divine feminine through the worship of Goddess Durga and her nine avatars.

प्रथमं शैलपुत्री च द्वितीयं ब्रह्मचारिणी।

तृतीयं चन्द्रघण्टेति कूष्माण्डेति चतुर्थकम् ।।

पंचमं स्कन्दमातेति षष्ठं कात्यायनीति च।

सप्तमं कालरात्रीति महागौरीति चाष्टमम् ।।

नवमं सिद्धिदात्री च नवदुर्गा: प्रकीर्तिता:।

उक्तान्येतानि नामानि ब्रह्मणैव महात्मना ।।

For those curious about which forms of Goddess Durga is worshipped on each day, the following list provides clarity:

1. Maa Shailputri

<div class="paragraphs"><p><strong>Maa Shailputri</strong></p></div>

Maa Shailputri

During Navratri, Hindus honour the nine forms of Goddess Durga, known as Navadurga. The first form is Maa Shailputri, symbolising the highest state of consciousness. Maa Shailputri is believed to be the daughter of the mountain, representing intense experiences or emotions. 

Mantra: You can worship Maa Shailputri by chanting the mantra "ॐ ऐं ह्रीं क्लीं शैलपुत्र्यै नम:".

On the first day of Navratri, wear white clothes as it symbolises the specific qualities of the goddess.

2. Maa Brahmacharini

<div class="paragraphs"><p><strong>Maa Brahmacharini</strong></p></div>

Maa Brahmacharini

Maa Brahmacharini, the second form of Nav Durga, embodies the infinite and omnipresent. "Brahma" signifies the boundless, supreme consciousness. Meditation leads to an experience where energy peaks and you feel united with the divine. Maa Brahmacharini represents dynamic consciousness, transcending limitations. 

Mantra: Chant the mantra "ॐ ऐं ह्रीं क्लीं ब्रह्मचारिण्यै नमः" to worship Maa Brahmacharini. 

On the second day of Navratri, wearing red symbolises action and power, representing the fierce aspect of the goddess.

3. Maa Chandraghanta

<div class="paragraphs"><p><strong>Maa Chandraghanta</strong></p></div>

Maa Chandraghanta

Maa Chandraghanta, the revered third form of the Divine Mother, embodies inner peace and tranquillity. The term "Chandraghanta" derives from "Chandra," symbolising our fluctuating emotions, and "Ghanta," akin to a temple bell that resonates a uniform sound amidst the chaos. Invoking Maa Chandraghanta aligns our scattered minds with divine serenity. 

Mantra: By chanting the mantra "ॐ ऐं ह्रीं क्लीं चन्द्रघंटायै नम:" we can worship Maa Chandraghanta.

Wear Royal blue colour clothes on the third day as it represents the peace and depth of the deep blue sky.

4. Maa Kushmanda

<div class="paragraphs"><p><strong>Maa Kushmanda</strong></p></div>

Maa Kushmanda

Maa Kushmanda, the fourth form of the Divine Mother, embodies vitality and energy. "Kushmanda" translates to "pumpkin" in Sanskrit, symbolising the energy that pervades the universe. In ancient tradition, only Brahmins and wise individuals consumed pumpkin due to its believed benefits in enhancing vitality and intellect. Pumpkin is known to absorb and emit vital energy, reflecting the expansive nature of consciousness within the cosmos. Reflecting on oneself as a pumpkin signifies aligning with Maa Kushmanda's omnipresent vitality. 

Mantra: Chant mantra  "ॐ ऐं ह्रीं क्लीं चामुण्डायै नम:" on the fourth day to worship Maa Kushmanda.

Wearing yellow clothes on Navratri's fourth day symbolises joy and victory, traits of the divine mother.

5. Maa Skandamata

<div class="paragraphs"><p><strong>Maa Skandamata</strong></p></div>

Maa Skandamata

Maa Skandamata, the fifth form of the Divine Mother, represents intellect and action. Derived from Lord Kartikeya, "Skanda" signifies the blend of wisdom and action. Skandamata brings practical knowledge to life, turning it into action. She symbolises the combination of Shiva's calm essence and the energy of the goddess, responsible for deeds. 

Mantra: By chanting mantra  "ॐ ऐं ह्रीं क्लीं स्कंदमातायै नम:" we can worship Maa Skandamata on the 5th day.

Wear Green colour clothes on the fifth day of the Navratri as it represents growth and prosperity.

6. Maa Katyayani

<div class="paragraphs"><p><strong>Maa Katyayani</strong></p></div>

Maa Katyayani

Not everything in our universe is visible. There's a vast, unseen world beyond our senses, governed by Goddess Katyayani. She represents the divine force behind the invisible and unexpressed world. Maa Katyayani symbolises both the positive and negative aspects of anger. When fueled by wisdom, anger becomes a tool for righteousness. Natural disasters, often seen as nature's fury, are connected to her divine form. She embodies the destruction of negativity and the establishment of positivity. 

Mantra: Chant the mantra "ॐ क्रीं कात्यायनी क्रीं नम:" on the 6th day of Navratri. 

Wear Slate- coloured clothes on the sixth day of the Navratri as it represents the balance in life. 

7. Maa Kalaratri

<div class="paragraphs"><p><strong>Maa Kalaratri</strong></p></div>

Maa Kalaratri

Among the seven forms of Goddess Durga is Maa Kalaratri, representing her most terrifying and fierce aspect. Yet, even in this form, she is dedicated to motherhood. She gives us wisdom and helps us let go of things we don't need. 

Mantra:  By chanting mantra "ॐ ऐं ह्रीं क्लीं कालरात्र्यै नम:" we can worship Maa Kalaratri on the seventh day of Navratri. 

Wear Orange coloured clothes on the seventh day as it represents the brightness and energy of the sun.

8. Maa Mahagauri

<div class="paragraphs"><p><strong>Maa Mahagauri</strong></p></div>

Maa Mahagauri

Maa Mahagauri, the eighth form of the Mother Goddess, represents pure beauty and grace. She's calm and caring, blessing everyone with her love. When we meditate, we feel her gentle presence, beyond what we see. People in both Hinduism and Buddhism respect her, as she awakens our inner peace and spirit. 

Mantra: Chant mantra  "ॐ ऐं ह्रीं क्लीं महागौर्ये नम" , to honour Maa Mahagauri.

Wear Peacock Green colour on the 8th day as it represents uniqueness and individuality.

9. Maa Siddhidatri

<div class="paragraphs"><p><strong>Maa Siddhidatri</strong></p></div>

Maa Siddhidatri

Maa Siddhidatri is the ninth form of the Divine Mother, blessing us with progress and fulfilling our desires. She grants incredible achievements and abilities, bringing perfection to every aspect of our lives. Maa Siddhidatri symbolises the fulfilment of wishes even before they are expressed. 

Mantra: Chant mantra "ॐ ऐं ह्रीं क्लीं सिद्धिदात्र्यै नम"  to worship Maa Siddhidatri on the ninth day.

Wear Pink coloured clothes on the ninth day of Navratri, as it represents love, affection and unity.

So, let's mark our calendars and join in the festivities to honour and seek the blessings of the divine goddess during Navratr!

Get The CEO Magazine to your Door Steps; Subscribe Now

Related Stories

No stories found.
The CEO Magazine India