Lok Sabha Election Results 2024: Narendra Modi's Historic Third-Term Victory

Lok Sabha Election Results 2024

Lok Sabha Election Results 2024

Narendra Modi's Historic Third-Term Victory

Prime Minister Narendra Modi is set to begin his third term, as the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) secured 290+ seats in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. The counting of votes on Tuesday revealed a mixed bag of results, with the NDA's overall strong performance contrasted by notable gains for the opposition. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured 240 seats, while the Congress party secured 99 seats, a notable increase from the 52 seats won in 2019.

Prime Minister Modi Expresses Gratitude to Voters

Addressing the nation from the BJP headquarters in Delhi, Prime Minister Modi expressed his gratitude to voters for their support. He declared, "Today’s victory is a victory of the world’s biggest democracy."

Modi, the second leader after founding Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru to secure a third term, has pledged a transformative five years ahead. Under his leadership, India has emerged as the world’s fastest-growing major economy. He now aims to elevate India to the position of the world's third-largest economy within the next three years, behind the United States and China.

Focus on BJP’s Crucial Allies: The 'Kingmakers

The spotlight now shines on BJP’s crucial allies, N. Chandrababu Naidu in Andhra Pradesh and Nitish Kumar in Bihar, whose support is imperative for the NDA to secure the formation of the next government. Election commission data revealed that Chandrababu Naidu's Telugu Desam Party (TDP) won 16 Lok Sabha seats, while Nitish Kumar's JD(U) secured 12 seats in Andhra Pradesh and Bihar, respectively. Together, they hold a significant total of 28 seats, wielding considerable influence over the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA). Both Naidu and Kumar have reaffirmed their commitment to the NDA and are set to participate in the alliance’s forthcoming meeting scheduled for Wednesday.

UP & Maharashtra’s Election Dynamics

The BJP encountered notable setbacks in Uttar Pradesh and Maharashtra. In Uttar Pradesh, Akhilesh Yadav's Samajwadi Party garnered attention by securing 37 seats, emerging as the largest party in the state, which contributes the highest number of MPs to the Lok Sabha. Congress, in alliance with the SP and part of the INDIA bloc, secured six seats. Together, the opposition INDIA bloc secured 43 seats in Uttar Pradesh. Contrastingly, the BJP's performance saw a significant decline, managing to secure only 33 seats, marking a steep drop from its 2019 tally of 63 seats in the state.

In Maharashtra, the opposition INDIA bloc emerged victorious in the majority of constituencies. Notable political figures like Nitin Gadkari and Piyush Goyal successfully retained their seats. The NDA, composed of the BJP, Eknath Shinde's Shiv Sena, and Ajit Pawar's NCP, secured 17 seats. On the other hand, the INDIA bloc, which includes Uddhav Thackeray's Shiv Sena (UBT), Sharad Pawar's NCPSP, and Congress, won 30 seats. Congress stood out as the single largest party in the state, securing 13 seats.

Major Electoral Showdowns

Numerous celebrity politicians engaged in intense electoral battles during the elections. In Amethi, Union Minister Smriti Irani faced defeat against Kishori Lal Sharma, a loyalist of the Gandhi family. Meanwhile, in Thiruvananthapuram, Shashi Tharoor emerged victorious over the BJP’s Rajiv Chandrasekhar in a fiercely contested three-way race, gaining a significant advantage as coastal voters shifted in his favour. Actor Suresh Gopi made history as the BJP's first winner in Thrissur, Kerala, triumphing over the Congress in a three-cornered contest.

In a notable victory, Rahul Gandhi secured wins in both of his constituencies, Wayanad in Kerala and Raebareli in Uttar Pradesh, securing the latter by an impressive margin of 3.88 lakh votes. During a press conference, he revealed that he had not yet decided from which constituency he would resign.

Strong Performances in Key Regions

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has demonstrated formidable strength in key regions across India in this election. Notably, the BJP secured all 29 Lok Sabha seats in Madhya Pradesh, showcasing a dominant performance in the state. Furthermore, under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) secured victories in several other crucial regions. 

In states like Himachal Pradesh, Delhi, Uttarakhand, and Tripura, the NDA secured all available seats, consolidating its position. Additionally, the BJP exhibited robust performances in Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, and Odisha, securing significant victories. 

In Chhattisgarh, the party secured 10 out of 11 seats, while in Gujarat, it triumphed in 25 seats. In Odisha, the BJP emerged victorious in 20 out of the state's 21 Lok Sabha seats, further strengthening its presence. Moreover, in Andhra Pradesh, the BJP and its allies, TDP and Janasena, secured victories in 21 out of the 25 Lok Sabha seats, reflecting substantial support in the region. 

Prime Minister Modi's personal victory in Varanasi, though with a reduced margin compared to 2019, underscores the continued confidence in his leadership, winning by 1.5 lakh votes. These strong performances in key regions solidify the BJP's position and highlight the NDA's widespread appeal across India.


The 2024 Lok Sabha election results indicate a mixed verdict from the Indian electorate. While Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the NDA have secured a third term, the resurgence of the opposition, especially in key states like Uttar Pradesh and Maharashtra, highlights a dynamic and competitive political landscape. As Modi prepares for another term, the promises of transformative economic growth and the challenges posed by a strengthened opposition will shape the political narrative in the years to come.

<div class="paragraphs"><p><strong>Lok Sabha Election Results 2024</strong></p></div>
Narendra Modi
<div class="paragraphs"><p><strong>Lok Sabha Election Results 2024</strong></p></div>
Nitish Kumar
<div class="paragraphs"><p><strong>Lok Sabha Election Results 2024</strong></p></div>
Key Highlights from Budget 2024

Get The CEO Magazine to your Door Steps; Subscribe Now

Software Suggestion

No stories found.

Best Place to Work

No stories found.

CEO Profiles

No stories found.

Best Consultants

No stories found.

Tips Start Your Own Business

No stories found.
The CEO Magazine India